Color vs Black & White Again: A Hybrid?

Continuing the early phases of my current work, a suggestion by Dan Lobdell (danlobdell.net), who recently taught a black and white digital techniques workshop here at The Bascom (thebascom.org) , has me intrigued:  selective desaturation.  The blurred figure is masked to retain its comparatively rich color, and the surroundings are partly desaturated, removing much of their color.  This emphasizes the figure, and its importance in the wooded setting, and thus underscores my sense of the human/spirit – nature connection.

Beyond the technical aspects of my project, I observe other things which influence the way I shoot. People are easier to photograph in the forest than in other  places.  Perhaps they are less inhibited in a natural habitat.  They move freely through the space, at home in their environment.  It is a place to refresh the spirit, and so further underscores my sense of the spiritual connection to the forest.  vickiprovostphotographs.com

Comparisons of Color vs Selective Desaturation

Bear-Pen-Gap-for-Blog

 Bear-Pen-Gap-desaturated-for-blog
Pigah-Horse-2-for-blogPisgha-Horse-2-for-blog-desaturated

Leave a comment